Checked the ingredients on the back of your cheese packet lately? You’ve probably noticed “rennet” as one of the first ingredients listed. Defined in the dictionary as:
“The lining membrane of the fourth stomach of a calf or of the stomach of certain other young animals.”
That’s pretty gross and terribly sad. Calves, normally unweaned, being slaughtered just so we can eat cheese. Not to worry - you can still have your cheese and eat it too. There are loads of cheeses made with “non-animal rennet” and they don’t taste any different!
And while you’re at it, you might want to check if the brand of cheese you’re eating comes from an ethical company.
Love Alana xx
* Photo sourced from Animal Place